Eating / South Korea

The food!

Many Korean restaurants have grills at the table.

Many Korean restaurants have grills at the table. Meals always come with side dishes.

The food in Korea is amazing.

I was nervous before arriving because I had heard about how spicy Korean food is, and I consider myself a wuss when it comes to spice. But I’ve learned two things: one, the food is not as spicy as many Koreans think it is. On more than a few occasions I have been asked, “is it too spicy?” Generally when someone asks me that, the food is not what I consider spicy.

And, two: I am not as much of a wuss as I thought I was. Last night we had Chinese food, and the dish was very spicy. But I just dealt with it, and Matt told me I have been a champ with my food since moving here. Holla!

We’re lucky that the food is so tasty and that we like most of what we’ve tried. Often we aren’t quite sure what we’re ordering. But we have a few staples now that we can order and recognize on a menu, and there are some restaurants with picture menus.

One of our staples: tonkatsu. It's fried pork and comes with kimchi, soup, rice, corn and a salad for less than $6.

One of our staples: tonkatsu. It’s fried pork and comes with kimchi, soup, rice, corn and a salad for less than $6.

I remember when traveling in Italy that picture menus often meant a restaurant catered to tourists and was overpriced and underwhelming. So far I haven’t found that to be the case here, probably because Korea is somewhat off the tourist circuit.

When we don’t know what something is on a menu, and we get tired of using Google Translate, we just go for it. And I don’t want to jinx it, but really, we haven’t been let down yet.

"I can't find anything in this guide book. Let's just order the top thing on the menu."

“I can’t find anything in this guide book. Let’s just order the top thing on the menu.”

Success! We got Korean barbecue. We were confused on how to do a few things, but the worker made some guestures and helped us along.

Success! We got Korean barbecue. We were confused on how to do a few things, but the worker made some gestures and helped us along.

Yes, this dish actually was spicy. We went through a lot of water.

Yes, this dish actually was spicy. We went through a lot of water.

IMG_1948

If we don’t feel like going out to eat, we usually get takeout. This is ham and potato pizza. Sometimes pepperoni pizza has corn on it. There’s also tons of seafood pizzas but we haven’t tried those yet.

4 thoughts on “The food!

  1. Wow. We’ll have to see if you can take the ‘hot chicken’ test when back in the US. Nice job trying all of that food! Most of it looks great!

Leave a Reply

