Cheorwon / South Korea / Teaching

What’s in a word?

You have all heard some stories about Alli’s students, some good and some bad. I have not shared much about mine. I teach all girls and they are smart, sweet, funny and they love me. I don’t know why but they do.

I have 11 girls in my afterschool class and for the most part we just speak English and have fun. I have taught them a few drinking card games but put English spins on them. (And I’ve left out that whole drinking part.) “Bullshit” is called “You are dishonest!” and King’s Cup rules all have certain English games attached to them.

I recently made a scavenger hunt activity for them. We have a lot of different pictures and paintings in and around our school. I thought it would be fun to make some English clues and have the students go around school finding things and taking their pictures in front of them. All of the students have phones and love using them to take pictures so it was perfect. One clue that I thought would not produce much creativity was the word “waterfall.” We have many pictures of waterfalls in the school hallways so I figured that is what I would get. Here is what they sent:

Waterfall 2

Waterfall 1

Waterfall 3

Awesome!

5 thoughts on “What’s in a word?

  1. Will you be teaching them how to play ‘beer pong’ at any point during this semester? This is great, Matt…..just great stuff. You’re creativity seems to be blossoming! Enjoy

Leave a Reply

