Cheorwon / Teaching

Fun, Fun English Camp

Me with my camp co-teacher Kim Bo-min and the students on the last day of camp.

Me with my camp co-teacher, Kim Bo-min, and the students on the last day of camp.

It’s summer vacation time! I’ve just finished a four-day English camp with about 20 middle school students. The camp was a lot of fun, and I think the students enjoyed it.

I found an outline for my camp on Waygook.org, which is a website that EFL teachers use to share ideas and post lesson plans and activities. Even though I got tons of material and ideas from the website, there still was a lot of planning involved. It took many, many hours to get everything prepared, but in the end I think it was worth it.

Creature Hunter workbooks! (This picture will not cooperate, but you get the gist.)

Creature Hunter workbooks! (This picture will not cooperate, but you get the gist.)

The theme for my camp was “Creature Hunter.” The story was that a teacher had been kidnapped by a dragon, and we would have to rescue the teacher by solving different puzzles and activities to get past certain creatures.

Finding clues of who (or what) kidnapped the teacher.

Finding clues of who (or what) kidnapped the teacher.

Finding clues of who (or what) kidnapped the teacher.

Finding clues of who (or what) kidnapped the teacher.

Some activities we did in class:

Making ice cream! (A magic potion to make the toad fall asleep)

We made ice cream in plastic bags filled with ice and salt. This actually didn’t go that well because a lot of the students never got ice cream; they just got extra cold milk. I’m not entirely sure why since all the ones I made worked, but I gave those to the students whose ice cream never formed, so all in all it was OK. At the end of each day, students wrote in their English diary about what they did at camp that day. One student wrote, “We made ice cream. I hate my cooking. Teacher’s is the best.” haha

Photo scavenger hunt! (Since the vampires couldn’t go outside)
You may remember that Matt did this with his students. We did the same type of thing, where each group had to find things in the school and take pictures with their smart phones.

Human period.

Human pyramid.

They are making a ruler "swim." The clue was "these swim in the school," and I assumed they would pose by the fish tank. But most students must have forgotten about the big, huge aquarium in the lobby that they walk past every day ;) One group told me, "swim in the school? Teacher: Impossible!" When I gave them hints to get them to think of the fish they were shocked and went running off to find it.

They are making a ruler “swim.” The clue was “these swim in the school,” and I assumed they would pose by the fish tank. But most students must have forgotten about the big, huge aquarium in the lobby that they walk past every day 😉 One group told me, “swim in the school? Teacher: Impossible!” When I gave them hints to get them to think of the fish they were shocked and went running off to find it.

High-five a teacher. I really shouldn't have let them use me. ...

High-five a teacher. I really shouldn’t have let them use me. …

Reading English during the photo hunt.

Reading English during the photo hunt.

Photo scavenger hunt. "Three pairs of glasses."

“Three pairs of glasses.”

Deviled eggs (For the devil, duh)

We made deviled eggs! Matt did this with his girls the day before I planned to do it with the boys. Matt’s students did not enjoy them, so I was nervous that this activity wouldn’t go well.
But besides a few students who thought the mayonnaise was disgusting and didn’t like the smell, this was a hit!

"Teacher: Delicious!"

“Teacher: Delicious!”

Being dramatic. I thought he just hated the smell, but he said he ate too many.

Being dramatic. I thought he just hated the smell, but he said he ate too many.

Look at my egg!

Look at my egg!

Making deviled eggs. Nomgyo, on the left, decided to hide a layer of pepper at the bottom of his egg to give to another student. It backfired when the other student enjoyed the peppery egg and got him back worse later.

Making deviled eggs. Nomgyo, on the left, decided to hide a layer of pepper at the bottom of his egg to give to another student. It backfired when the other student enjoyed the peppery egg and got him back worse later.

This is fun!

This is fun!

Enjoying deviled eggs. ... I think they mostly loved the bacon!

Enjoying deviled eggs. … I think they mostly loved the bacon!

American-rules dodgeball (Fighting the werewolves)

I taught the kids how to play dodgeball. I explained the game and drew some diagrams on the board of how to play. Then I drew three balls. “Teacher! Three balls!?” They were so surprised. Then I told them the rule about what happens when a student catches a ball, and this blew their minds. You should have seen their faces. (The player who threw the ball is out, plus someone from the other team can come back in the game.) They loved playing the game and kept begging me the next day to let them play again. So on the last day, we ended camp with American dodgeball.

We also made tangrams and did some activities in a workbook that they used every day. Students earned stickers throughout the week for completing activities, winning games, being the best cleaners after cooking, etc. At the end, the team and the individuals with the most stickers won prizes. This (and the fun of the activities) kept them motivated and made camp go by really fast each day.

7 thoughts on “Fun, Fun English Camp

  1. Wow, what a lot of work — but it looked so fun, the kids probably learned a lot. Have a great summer vacation!

  2. That sounds like so much fun! At least you remembered the mayonnaise for the deviled eggs- remember when Mom accidentally left it out, then had my friend Debbie taste-test? Haha Debbie’s face was priceless.
    Do they all just call you “teacher”, so every teacher in the school gets called Teacher?

    • Yes, of course I remember the vinegar eggs! Ah, mother! Haha

      Yes, most kids just call me teacher. They only say Alli occasionally when I see them outside of school or if they are yelling teacher in class and I am ignoring them because I am talking to other kids. They call the Korean teachers “sansangnim,” which means teacher or
      “sahm,” which is like a shortened version. It’s kind of weird here because there are all these rules for how to address people. Like you shouldn’t just say someone’s first name, you should add an honorific after it. But I’m never sure what honorific to use so I just don’t, and also I think I am given leeway since I am a foreinger. Or you address people by titles. So the other teachers will say “sansangnim” when talking to each other or their first names + sansangnim. Or sajanim for boss, etc.

  3. Looks like you really made it a fun time for all! I’m sure that it’s difficult to plan and that you want it to be fun for them at the same time…looks like you did a great job! rock on

  4. For so many to look so happy at the same time…says it was worth your efforts!! Hale on!! (In Japan ‘san’ is added to names as a form of respect.) Alli-san….just about your real name eh?

    bev

    • Yes, I was thinking of the Alli-san! haha. I used to think Mr. Miyagi was saying “Daniel son,” in the movie “The Karate Kid.”

Leave a Reply

