living

Take me out to the ball game

IMG_7268

Doosan Bears vs. Hanwha Eagles. Anthony later changed alliances and bought a Bears shirt.

Doosan Bears vs. Hanwha Eagles. Anthony later changed alliances and bought a Bears shirt.

If you know me, you know that sporting events are kind of “meh” to me. I could take them or leave them, and I usually only “take them” for the social aspect.

But my co-teacher, Jenny, had been raving about Korean baseball games to me, so Matt and I decided that it would be fun to check out a game when my family came to visit in September.

Wow. After finding our seats (with the help of some kind strangers; seriously do the seats go in order? I’m still not sure) the fun began. We sat in the cheering section, behind the cheerleaders. But I use the word sat loosely, because really, we were on our feet most of the game.

Every batter had a song and a chant with his name. Did we know what everyone was saying? No. Did we care? Of course not! We joined in and yelled and sang whatever we thought the crowd was yelling. Kim Jae Ho had a particularly memorable tune sung to the rhythm of “The Twist.”

After attending the game, I think I agree with my co-teacher, who had also been to a baseball game in Seattle. Korean baseball games are more exciting than American games. Now the number of errors in the game? That’s a different story.

If the Koreans drink beer through  a straw, so will Anthony.

If the Koreans drink beer through a straw, so will Anthony.

Beer was actually affordable. There's not the stadium markup. You also can buy beer outside the stadium and bring it in.

Beer was actually affordable. There’s not the stadium markup. You also can buy beer and food outside the stadium and bring it in.

Wearing my Dusan Bears gear.

Wearing my Doosan Bears gear.

The cheerleaders in their Chuseok outfits. (Chuseok is like Korea's Thanksgiving.)

The cheerleaders in their Chuseok outfits. (Chuseok is like Korea’s Thanksgiving.) Their other outfits were more skimpy. They worked hard throughout the entire game to get the crowd on its feet.

4 thoughts on “Take me out to the ball game

    • Haha. All I could think of was this one line from a movie that my sister and I loved when we were in high school: “Buzz, says you get drunk faster if you drink through a straw.”

    • Thanks! It’s actually my co-teacher’s headband. đŸ™‚ They had really cute stuff to purchase, and most of it was way cheaper than stuff at U.S. sporting events.

Leave a Reply

